Psycho Pass – サイコパス 1 & 2

This post contains SPOILERS!!!!

Happy New Year Everyone! \ @ _ @ /

Let’s do this…First post of 2015!!

Over the past two weeks, I have been catching up on my Japanese Anime.The story lines, characters and quality of Anime still manages to amaze me, even after all these years of being a fan. This Anime caught my eye recently and then proceeded to blow me the fuk away.

ps 1

サイコパス – Psycho Pass 1 & 2

Wikipedia:

Gen Urobuchi is a Japanese writer for visual novels, light novels, and anime. He is known for his dark style, nihilistic themes, and tragic plot twists, earning him the fan nickname “Urobutcher.”

Wikipedia Summary: 

Psycho-Pass is set in 2113. The Sibyl System is actively measuring the populace’s mental states, personalities, and the probability that individuals will commit crimes, using a “cymatic scan” of the brain. The resulting assessment is called a Psycho-Pass (サイコパス Sa-i-ko-pa-su). When the probability of a person engaging in crimes measured by the Crime Coefficient index exceeds a certain level in an individual, he or she is pursued, apprehended, and killed if necessary.

My Review:

I’ve been meaning to watch サイコパス for a while. I had too many K dramas that I was watching and when I saw it had two parts, I felt like it was too much to try to fit in. Since the amount of K dramas I’m currently watching has decreased for now, I started watching and was able to finish. Part 1 and 2. Once I started, I was totally obsessed. Typical me.

The story line is pretty good. I don’t mind a futuristic theme, as long as it’s not so ridiculously over the top that it seems unbelievable. There is a nice balance in サイコパス. I don’t think I could handle actually living in the kind of setting that is portrayed in this Anime though. Having a main frame computer system pass judgement on whether I’m a criminal or not with one body scan and then say if I should be killed on the spot? My stress level would probably send my Psycho-Pass well over 300+ and anything over 299 is instant death. So…..Yeah.

The way the ‘criminals’ are killed is absolutely horrifying. Bubbling up as if boiling internally then exploding into a bloody pile of goo. Yessss! Japanese Anime at it’s finest. NOT for the squeamish. I’ll say that right now. There is also a stun mode for ‘criminals’ whose Psycho-Pass are read under 299. Depending on where it hits you, you can be passed out for up to three days with possible paralysis during that time. Not bad, right?

One of the Enforcers in part 1, Shinya Kogami, is hot as hell. Seriously. Anime has the ability to make you totally fall for the guys/girls in the series. Or is that just me??? – _ – Hmmm. Any-hue. His cigarette smoking, sexy staring and gun blazing was SMT (So My Type)! I was bummed he wasn’t in part 2 but that story line was also interesting. Each episode of サイコパス is a continuation of the previous episode. You don’t have to watch Part 1 first, but I would highly recommend it.

I also LOVED their guns, the “Dominators”, that automatically level up in badass-ness, depending on your scan level. The way the gun would calmly announce in a friendly female voice that they are about to turn you into human soup was madness.

I’ve probably said this before but I would LOVE to sit down with the writer of an Anime, in this case Gen Urobuchi-sensei and be like, “HOW??? How did you think of all this?”

Isha’s Anime Rating –

Anime Review(s) – Coming Soon:  Terra Formars

Leave a Reply

