Here we go again with the Stereotypes….

*sighs

In this day and age? Come on people!

My friend sent me a blog post that a BTS – Bangtan Boys fan wrote about a Twitter comment made by one of the Mentors on BTS’s new show American Hustle Life that’s currently airing. I would link his Twitter comment but he deleted it, so I won’t even bother to mention which Mentor it was.

In the BTS fan blog post, there was a screen shot of a meme with the Mentor’s comment about black women and their attitudes.

~ _ ~  . . . . . . .

Now, I can’t speak on behalf of my whole race because we each have our own circumstances and our own stories to tell.

I can speak for myself though. I give what I get. If someone treats me well and is respectful to me from one second, that is how I treat them. If someone approaches me with the stank face and is an ass then it is kindly returned. If it’s a work situation, since professionalism is a must, I can deal with the biggest and baddest without compromising my self image and my job. That’s it. No more no less.

When I travel to Japan and interact with the natives, some times I wonder if their surprised reactions towards me are because I am a foreigner or if it’s because I’m a black woman without an attitude. I usually brush this aside though because regardless of the reason, people in Japan have always treated me so kindly that I feel like it’s my second home.

The thoughts still lurk though and sometimes I am mad at myself for allowing them to. Then I see Twitter comments like that one and think to myself, ahhhh. That is why I can’t shake free of those dumb thoughts because as of THIS week someone was on Twitter saying the same old dumb sheit about black women.

I hope that even though he was their Mentor, and I am using the word Mentor VERY loosely, that BTS – Bangtan Boys use their own minds and hearts to determine what they think and feel about the different kinds of women they will encounter in their life time.

Signing off….

 

Leave a Reply

