What are the real ‘Oppa’ rules?

My friend and I were chatting today about my Bias list (currently only has 5 guys) and the possibility of my having to change it into two separate lists:

  1. I’m your Noona Bias List

  2. You’re my Oppa Bias List

Which brought back up the Oppa question.

Not that I plan on running around Korea and calling every guy older than me Oppa but since it is fully integrated into Korean culture, it is something that I am curious about.

I got the older brother, older male friend and boyfriend part. It’s the age part that kills me every time. With the US age and the Korean age not being the same, if you want to address someone as your Oppa, which age is the correct age to follow?

For example: If a guy was born in Korea in November 1977, he would be 36 in the US but 38 in Korea. He would turn 39 in Korea, not in November but in January.

So for a woman born in the US in November 1977, can she call him Oppa?

Based on US age he is not her Oppa but in Korean age he is.

*Please note that I was not born in November 1977 and am not using my age as this example. Kekekeke  ~ _ ~

Leave a Reply

