Dating in 2014

When people say that they are dating, what exactly does that mean in 2014?

I mean, I know what dating is but is there such a thing as being faithful to only one person anymore? It just seems like most people these days seem to choose quantity over quality.

I personally have not seriously dated in a long time. Not because I don’t want to or because I don’t see guys with potential but because I have so much going on at this point in my life.

I can’t manage another person’s feelings, expectations and whatever else at this moment in time. I think that being grown up enough to acknowledge this is important, as opposed to being selfish and still wanting to have someone in my life only to neglect them later on.

So back to my original question, what is dating in 2014?

I have a lot of male friends. Some married, some single, some with girlfriends and some with ‘groupies’.

One of the perks of this is being able to listen and take part in their unguarded conversations. They are very comfortable talking with me around. Maybe TOO comfortable at times. So because of this, I am privy to a level of honesty that, to me, is hard to achieve once you officially start dating someone.

I shall leave them nameless to protect the ‘innocent’. I have heard things from them like:

“I just broke up with my girlfriend of xx years and want some time to myself. I’m NOT looking for another long term relationship.”

This particular friend had a one night stand a few months later and got the girl pregnant. Needless to say, they now have a child together. That sounds pretty long term to me.

“I only got married because I thought it would be the same as when we were dating. Things have changed and I’m not happy.”

This friend later bought a house for and is still married to his wife who he said “wasn’t making him happy”. Meanwhile, I’ve heard from mutual friends that he is still saying he’s not happy. Go figure.

“Women are worse than men. They do their dirt but are sneakier so they don’t get caught”.

LOL! Silly Rabbit…Although this may be true for some women, not ALL women live by that sword. Part of the dating problems in 2014 that I have observed is men and women trying to ‘one up’ each other with the notion of “if you can do it then so can I but better”.

“I may like some qualities in one person and some in another. Why do I have to choose between the two?”

First of all, I don’t know if people have forgotten but STDs and AIDS ARE still alive and kicking. Second, not one person is perfect. Third, how old are you again? Mr-I-want-my-cake-and-ice-cream-too.

So to sum it up, what does dating in 2014 mean to me? It means unless a miracle happens, Isha will remain single as advertised until 2015. Maybe longer. If I meet someone who I can love despite their flaws and that loves me and me alone despite mine, then we’ll see. Sharing is NOT caring. ~ _ ~

What does dating in 2014 mean to other people? Hmmm. I dunno.

What does it mean to you???

 

Leave a Reply

