Only one suitcase?! -_-

I was informed by United Airlines that I may only take one suitcase along with my carry on and personal item (purse) on my flight to Japan. Wait. Let me re-phrase that. I can take an extra suitcase BUT it would cost me $100. Bhahaha!!! Do they not know how much Hello Kitty items I can buy with $100?

Needless to say, I was horrified. When I went last year, I flew Air Canada. I was not impressed by their planes or their level of service but my 2nd suitcase was free since I was flying internationally.

How can I possibly pack my styles into one suitcase? My shoes ALONE need their own suitcase. I say styles because what I wear depends on how I feel when I wake up each morning. Sometimes I like the Preppy look. Sometimes I like the Rocker look. Sometimes I like the Girly look. This now means that I can’t give myself the option of packing more than one outfit of each look. I have to chose one of each and stick to it.

This would be okay if I wasn’t so indecisive about my clothes. I went to Dunkin Donuts not too long ago and changed my shirt three times. I was only out of the house for mmmm, maybe half an hour. Can you imagine what’s going to take place when I’m in Tokyo, one of the major fashion capitals of the world, trying to pick out an outfit? For those of you who are saying “Meh, no one in Japan really cares what you have on”, I’d like to share a quick story.

Upon arrival at the Narita airport last year, within ten minutes or so of collecting my suitcases in baggage claim, I stood in the airport lobby looking around. I was trying to figure out where I should go first. I needed to pick up my Rail Pass, my Japan cell phone from the post office and buy my shuttle bus ticket to my hotel. Suddenly (I am so not making this up) a reporter and four man camera crew materialized in front of me. Later, after some research, I found out that TV Tokyo was interviewing travelers in the airport for Japan’s tourism. I was VERY surprised. They asked me questions for about five minutes. During that five minutes a good size crowd of people (20+) had gathered. This lovely crowd, with their cell phones high in the air, were busy snapping photos of me being interviewed. THANK GAWD, that the outfit I had on was one of my favs that I had put a lot of thought into or I would’ve DIED. I am still working on my airport fashion for this trip, just in case….

So back to my current dilemma. United Airlines and their foolishness. I have already packed, re-packed and unpacked many times. I have no idea how I am going to pull this off. The only thing I have decided on is that my shoes will go in my carry on. Mind you, I haven’t even started to pick through my shoes yet. And purses? *Shudders

Packing this suitcase is definitely a work in progress. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

